Friday, June 22, 2012

What a Fantastic Debut!

Molly O’Keefe’s Can’t Buy Me Love is one fantastic debut. Can’t Buy Me Love has all the elements that I love in a contemporary romance, a pair of strong leads, with a good set of supporting characters.  A girl from the wrong side of the tracks, Tara Jean Sweet knows that opportunity will never knock; she’ll have to seize it. Elderly Texas rancher Lyle Baker has a dying request: He will give Tara Jean a stake in his leather business in exchange for a little family subterfuge. All Tara Jean has to do is play the part of a gold-digging fiancée to lure Lyle’s estranged children home. The mission is soon accomplished. 
Now Lyle’s gone—and his ridiculously handsome son, Luc, an ice hockey superstar sidelined by injuries, is the new owner of Crooked Creek ranch. He’s also Tara Jean’s boss. But being so close to sinfully sweet Tara Jean does crazy things to Luc’s priorities, like make him want to pry her deepest secrets from those irresistible lips. But when Tara Jean’s past demands a dirty showdown, will Luc stay and fight?
It doesn’t take this book long for the sparks to begin flying. However there is no question that Tara and Luc are adversaries. These two have chemistry right off the bat, which keeps the pages moving and keeps the reader wanting to come back for more. Almost all of the characters involved in this book have been damaged in some way, shape or form.  This led to a depth that this reader didn’t see coming. I went into this book thinking it would be a light fluffy read, only to discover that it has some serious dark spots which made it all that much better. Fans of Susan Andersen, Carly Phillips and Jill Shalvis are sure to love this wonderful debut! 

No comments:

Post a Comment